About Us


The American Association of Blacks in Energy (AABE®) is a national association of energy professionals founded and dedicated to ensuring the input of African Americans and other minorities into the discussion and development of energy policies, regulations, research and development technologies and environmental issues. The AABE organization currently consists of 36 chapters (including 6 student chapters) nationally with approximately 1,400 members.
Mr. Clarke Watson (1942-2003), of Denver, founded the AABE national organization in 1977. Watson also served as the national board chairman from 1977-1980. The Denver Area Chapter (DAC) was formed in 1978 and is one of 6 AABE nationally recognized chapters in the Western Region of the United States of America and was proud to host the 4th Annual AABE National Conference in 1981.
In May 2007, DAC member, Officer and Director Frank Stewart was elected AABE National President and Chief Operating Officer. The DAC includes members from such industries as utilities, state and federal government, small business, and other energy-related areas. A few companies represented are: XCEL Energy, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), SDS Petroleum, Forest City Stapleton and Duke Energy Field Services.
The DAC is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that has demonstrated its dedication to youth and the community. In addition to hosting the AABE Annual National Conference (1981), a quarterly Board Meeting was held in Denver in 2000, and in the spring of 2003, the DAC jointly sponsored “The State of the State, A Low Income Energy Forum” with the Colorado Energy Assistance Foundation.
A Clarke Watson Scholarship Luncheon has been held annually since 2004. The luncheon was named after the AABE founder upon his passing in January 2003. Each luncheon has been completely underwritten by generous contributors such as CH2M Hill, Xcel Energy, and the Denver Weekly News, making it free to invited students and corporate attendees. Past luncheon speakers have included Dr. Tamara Jackson, Office of Science and Technology Policy, in the Executive Office of the President; Dr. Aprille Ericsson, Aerospace Engineer, National Aeronautics and Space Administration NASA), and Mr. Cedric Sparks, Mayor’s Office of Youth Services in Birmingham, Alabama.
The DAC was the host chapter of the 2007 Western Regional Conference in August and our Chapter President served as its Conference Chairperson. As you click through our navigation links below, please view our general programs schedule, committees, executive officers and chapter contact information.
Terms of Use   |   © Copyright 2018 American Association of Blacks in Energy. Site by Filnet.