Chapter Committees

The Programs Committee provides overall coordination of all seminars, workshops, General Body Meetings, etc., that the Chapter might find necessary to host for its members or the community at large, to establish better communications about energy and its impact on African-Americans and other minority communities. The Committee responsibilities include scheduling meetings, providing structure, and coordinating the calendar.  This Committee is also responsible for the planning and arranging all details for social programs of the Chapter.  If other Committees develop programs, they will maintain ownership and responsibility, but they will coordinate with this Committee

Professional Development

The Professional Development Committee supports the strategic focus of the chapter through forums, monthly meetings, service opportunities and other activities that will help the membership grow professionally and develop personally.  The committee will develop and implement a Professional Development Program plan.  The committee should publicize promotions and other developmental moves of AABE – Virginia Chaptermembers. 

Mentoring (Professional Development – Subcommittee)
The Mentoring Subcommittee is responsible for developing and implementing a plan to promote mentoring opportunities for AABE – Virginia Chapter members.

The Membership Committee directs all activities of the Chapter concerned with the recruitment and maintenance of members. The committee receives and processes all applications for membership, including reinstatements, and notifies the membership of all such applications upon submission to the National Association and the local chapter.

The Membership Committee is also responsible for preparing membership packages for prospective members and representing the Chapter at various events where there are opportunities to present benefits of the Chapter to the public. In addition, they assist members with information on the Chapter and inform members of upcoming events and opportunities in the energy industry.

The Legislative Committee is responsible for vision and insight on energy policy issues and their impact on African-Americans and other minority communities . This committee monitors state and federal legislative and regulatory policies and promotes awareness of such information within the Chapter. This committee is also responsible for proposing policy principles to the Executive Committee, as appropriate, and for developing contacts with legislators to support the Chapter’s involvement in governmental energy policymaking.

Community Relations
The Community Relations Committee communicates the Chapter’s agenda to the community to enhance the public’s awareness of AABE and its mission. It promotes Chapter events to external stakeholders, and is responsible for marketing community- and energy-related events and activities to the membership. This committee also organizes, or helps coordinate the Chapter’s participation in, community service activities.  

Student Relations
The Student Relations Committee is responsible for encouraging an interest among local students in energy-related careers. This committee leverages existing programs to increase students’ awareness of energy-related issues, and is responsible for developing and administering a Chapter scholarship program, including the proposal of potential scholarship criteria to the Executive Committee.

Scholarship (Student Relations – Subcommittee)
The Scholarship Subcommittee is responsible for maintaining procedures to be adopted by the general membership for identifying scholarship candidates and disbursement of funds. This Subcommittee is also primarily responsible for establishing the structure, developing a plan, and assisting in fund raising activities with regard to the annual scholarships that the Chapter awards to qualified students.


The Finance Committee is responsible for auditing the Treasurer’s accounts at the close of the fiscal year and to provide a full report at the Annual Chapter meeting in December.

The Nomination Committee is comprised of members who are appointed by the Chapter Presidentno later than the regular chapter meeting in August, with the Chair to be selected by the members of the Committee. The duties of this committee include:

  • Nominating and accepting nominations for candidates for the offices to be filled at the annual chapter meeting in October;
  • Providing the membership with a slate of nominees up for a vote;
  • And conducting and supervising elections.


The Communications Committee is responsible for maintaining the AABE – Virginia Chapter website and receiving all suggestions for amendments to the webpages of the Chapter, preparing them in proper form and submitting them for approval by the National Technical Development Committee.  

Terms of Use   |   © Copyright 2017 American Association of Blacks in Energy. Site by Filnet.